Relevancy and My TweetDeck


Author: Bradley Lawrence

Among the notable upgrades to my digital life this week is the TweetDeck app for my Droid. I have a handful of friends, who this week, discovered Twitter and are now addicted, too proud to update their status over FB they have opted to use the update only service.

The TweetDeck aggregates the updated feeds in my Twitter, facebook, LinkedIn, MySpace and GoogleBuzz (if you use any or all of those) accounts into one continuous  stream of updated information.

Great! Now on one App I am able view and comment, on all the live updated feeds of my family, friends, and the High School acquaintances that I haven’t spoken to in ten years. Of course, I am interested in what Susie HighSchool and her daughter are doing at 8 a.m., 10 a.m., 12:30 p.m., 2 and 4 p.m. and so on. I would much rather read those updates than the informative Tweets from the latest political uprisings in an oppressive country across the pond.

Relevancy.

Time to trim the Friends list.

Hitting my stride in the update game has helped me to set the parameters for what I really want out of my social networks. It is no longer about accepting a friendship because someone has accepted mine, or if I accept it now maybe one day I will get around to having a chat with that person. In digital, as in my physical life, if the proposed friendship has nothing  to offer me, if I can’t see it enlightening or entertaining me. If your conversation isn’t relevant to my everyday,  than I don’t have the space and the free time for you.

Share

Leave a Reply

